September 20, 2009

  • The New York Chronicles: Life of an OC Girl in NY - Entry 54

    I'm horrible! Why have I neglected to blog for so long! This post is going to be a MONDO post with lots of updates and photos!

    I shouldn't be making excuses, but I'll make some anyway. The office is in the middle of a move and so I've been helping a great deal with that. And on top of that, Dan and I are officially moving back to OC on October 21st so we've been doing as much as we can and hanging out with all of our NYC friends as often as we can. That means we try to do something almost every day!

    You read it right. Dan and I will be moving back to OC on October 21st! The time in NYC has seriously gone by so fast. It's been an amazing ride and the experience of living in this city has been beyond rewarding.

    For an NY update, the summer weather has come and gone and fall is here, my favorite season. It's not too cold and it's not too hot. The outfits are cooler and people don't smell as bad. I love crispy fall weather. You can just tell from breathing in the air that it's fall.

    An old friend of mine, Chris, was in town this past weekend. I met up with him and Sophia, his gf, for some dinner. As you can tell, I'm not in my summer attire anymore. I'll be catching up on updates still so you'll see summer outfits in this post. My husband plays a mean paparazzi.

    Picture 094  

    I'm going to go straight to the updates now. After our July guests left, we attended the Green Day concert! What can I say really except that I still love seeing them in concert. They're awesome and bring out the youngster in me that wants to mosh and crowd surf.

    IMG_9916 by you.

    Where else, but at the Garden!
    IMG_9959 by you.

    The last time I saw Green Day, I was moshing in the pit and crowd surfing to their jams, but sadly this time, I had to sit further away. Here's a video of them performing an older song...

    The day after the Green Day concert, we celebrated Tina's 29th birthday! This is after a week of visitors and the Green Day concert so we were beat but still wanted to celebrate for the special lady with wine and karaoke!

    IMG_1217 by you.

    IMG_1218 by you.

    IMG_1233 by you.

    After a few days of rest, we decided we'd like to have a picnic, Vietnamese style! Haha. Check out our picnic food.

    IMG_1265 by you.

    YUM!
    IMG_1266 by you.

    IMG_1270 by you.

    A nice day in Thompkins Square Park
    IMG_1278 by you.

    After we ate, Angie had to go to work so Dan, Nam, Laura, and I met up with Tina and Dane for a bike ride in Central Park.

    IMG_1318 by you.

    Here's a little backgroud on this short video. I thought Nam was taking a photo of me but he was actually shooting a video. When I turned to the front again, I noticed Dan right in front of me and ooooh! It could have been a lot uglier. LOL.

    Here's a better video showing you how nice a ride in Central Park is. If you ever get a chance to do it on a nice day, I say go for it!

    Dan and I also made it out to the Highline this summer. It was an old railway that hasn't been in use that they transformed into an awesome above ground park. We met Adam and Sonya there, walked around, and also enjoyed a street festival below. I can't seem to locate my Highline Park photos, but I do have this one that Dan Flickred of me. 
    Highline Park by dtran1015.

     

    By the way, Johnny Depp looks CRAZY as Tim Burton's version of the Mad Hatter. I love Johnny Depp and his portrayal of eccentric characters!
    Anne <3 Johnny Depp and everyone he plays by dtran1015.


    Another band that is awesome to see live is Incubus! Oh, that Brandon, he sure knows how to put on a show. This time, we atteded the concert at Radio City Music Hall, rather than Madison Square Gardent.

    And the ladies, including me, always love it when he takes off his shirt. He does this at EVERY show!

    After the concert, we split up from Dane because he was heading uptown and we, downtown. Saw him on the other side of the tracks. haha.


    What's a husband for if you can't spend nice quality time together alone as well and still have a great time together.  On this particular summer's day, we decided to have a nice brunch and then head to the New York Public Library since we hadn't paid a visit yet.

    We had a lot of fun taking photos inside the massive library. It's really quite beautiful inside.

    Dan and I also wanted to attend another Water Taxi Beach event so we headed out there again but to South Street Seaport this time instead of Long Island City. At both places, the views are really pretty.

    We ended the night hanging out with Adam.


    Oooh ooh, when I heard the Titanic exhibit was in town, I asked Dan if we could go check it out and as always Nam, Laura, and Angie usually want to check out a lot of the same things we're interested in so we all made a trip to go see the exhibit together.

    It was a great exhibit. We all received a card with a real character that was on the ship. Laura, Angie, and I were all first class passengers who stayed in the fancy areas where Rose stayed while Dan and Nam were both in third class where Jack Dawson stayed. It really gave us a different experience.

    We weren't allowed to take photos inside the exhibit but we snuck some anyway. Haha.

    What happened to our characters? All of the girls' passengers survived. We had a higher chance because not only were we first class passengers, but women and children were allowed to get on the life boats first. Although, Dan's passenger was a third class passenger, he made it out alive, but Nam's didn't.  Again, it was a great exhibit. It brought us very close to the story.

    At the end, we got to take a photo at a replica of Titanic's staircase. Remember it from the movie?


    I'm going to end this post with the John Legend concert. Boy is his voice sexy. I can only explain it how I did on twitter that night... "Oh My G Spot! John Legend's voice is having sex with me!" It really was.

    Back at the Garden...

    Kanye isn't very popular right now due to his stint at the VMA's dissing Taylor Swift, but he showed up at John's concert and I must say, I was pretty excited.

    Okay folks. I still have a lot to catch up on, but I'll stop here and end it with a WOOF!

    Don't mess with this bitch!! by dtran1015.