March 25, 2010

  • Finishing Up My NY Chronicles: Entry 2

    Aaahh.. I remember this night. It was some time in mid August ('09). It was awesome. Some may not view it that way for the way it ended, but the four of us, Angie, Laura, Dan, and I had a blast.

    The night started out with a plan to see Sex and the City in Central Park. What a great combo... Sex and the City... IN... Central Park. The thrill of living in New York City will never fade for me.

    It was a hot hot hot sizzling summer's day in New York City. Look at the crowd. The venue hit capacity and many were turned away.

    I believe Angie and I showed up at around 6pm for the 9pm showing? Gosh I don't remember, but we were there extremely early and we got awesome seats right up front. We set down our blankets and waited for Dan and Laura to show up. We Were waiting for Nam too, but turns out he forgot it was Sex and the City night so he ended up going to our apartment to hang out with us! Aaahhh!

    Angie and me with the screen in the back.

    Eating dinner and waiting for the movie to start.

    And then it started and everyone cheered!

    Halfway through the movie, we could hear thunder. And we started to see lightning... A lot of it! People started leaving, but not us four. We weren't afraid of a little thunder and a lightning.

    But then the thunder and lightning became really loud and bright. They turned off the screen. Booooo! Why did you turn off the screen. We lagged on leaving as we followed the crowd. Boooo! We were waiting for this night.

    The sky brightened again and I turned around back towards the screen. I saw rain pouring down from afar. I remember pointing in that direction and yelling to Angie, "Look! The rain's slowly coming this way!"

    But I was wrong and it was coming FAST! We started screaming and running as it caught up to us and we got drenched. I heard Dan scream to me to run over to him because he had the beach towel we were using over his head.

    The four of us walked for what seemed like miles to the street. We just got more and more drenched as the towel became drenched. All the while I'm screaming and recording and following the crowd. I have this all on video and hope to get it up soon. Haha.

    Here we are safe and under an awning waiting for our turn to get a taxi home. Nothin' but smiles.